Alumni Awards and Honours

College of Medicine alum have received many awards and honours over the years. Below is a partial list of alumni that have been presented with awards.


Established in 1967 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, the Order of Canada is the cornerstone of the Canadian Honours System, and recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. The Order recognizes people in all sectors of Canadian society. Their contributions are varied, yet they have all enriched the lives of others and made a difference to this country.

Harvey Chochinov (2015)

Alvin Zipursky (2011)

Allan Ronald (2010)

Frank Plummer (2006)

Arnold Naimark (2001)

Bruce Chown (1967)

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates Canadian heroes whose work has advanced health, thereby inspiring the pursuit of careers in the health sciences.

Arnold Naimark (2013)

Allan Ronald (2011)

Charles Hollenberg (2003)

Henry Friesen (2001)

Bruce Chown (1995)

Canada Gairdner Wightman Award: This award is given to a Canadian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science consistent with the purpose of the Foundation.

Frank Plummer (2016)

Allan Ronald (2006)

Henry Friesen (2001)

Charles Hollenberg (1999)

Canada Gairdner International Award: This award recognizes outstanding biomedical scientists who have made original contributions to medicine with the goal of contributing through research to increased understanding of human biology and disease.

Bruce Chown (1968)

Website created by Justin Fuhr and Jordan Bass © 2016